2Differentiated integration after ‘Brexit’, 22-23 November 2017, University of Agder, Kristiansand. Dr. F. Asderaki presented a research about Brext and Knowledge Policies.

An intensive intellectual exercise along with Frank Schimmelfennig (ETH Zürich), Dirk Leuffen (University of Konstanz), Katharina Holzinger and Thomas Malang (University of Konstanz), Benjamin Leruth (University of Canberra), Stefan Gänzle (UiA) and Jarle Trondal (UiA), Andrew Glencross (Aston University), Øyvind Svendsen (University of Copenhagen) and Rebecca Adler-Nissen (University of Copenhagen), Cristina Fasone (LUISS, Rome) and Diane Fromage (University of Maastricht), Michael Johns (Laurentian University), Cristina Juverdeanu (King’s College, London), Paul James Cardwell (University of Strathclyde), Thomas Henöckl (UiA), Eleftheria Markozani (University of Piraeus), Paul Gillespie (University College Dublin),Adam Szymanski (University of Warsaw).

Many thanks to the hosts and specially to Anne Elizabeth Stie, Head of the Department of Political Science and Management (UiA).


1The Jean Monnet Chair for the European Union's Education, Training, Research and Innovation Policies attended the opening ceremony of the ‘’Energy Union Future Leaders Academy’’ that took place on the 10th of November. Energy Union Future Leaders Academy is the first international academy concerning the Energy Union that has been co-organized by the Greek Energy Forum and the Energy and Environmental Policy Laboratory of the University of Piraeus, supported by the Vice President of the European Commission responsible for the Energy Union, Maroš Šefčovič and under the auspices of European Commission.

Oil, Gas and Hydrocarbon markets, major infrastructure projects, energy security, renewable energy sources as well as the impact of the crisis on Ukraine were among the topics that have been discussed at the Academy. Young students and professional from 10 countries attended the Academy.

The Jean Monnet Chair for the European Union's Education, Training, Research and Innovation Policies attended the Ceremony of the proclamation of Mr Frans Timmermans as an Honorary Doctorate of the Department of Political Science and Public Administration of the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens.

At the Ceremony that took place on the 30th of October, Mr. Timmermans, First Vice-President of the European Commission, received an honour for his offering on European Politics, International Relations and Human Rights.

eastmed 2ndmeeting

From 4th to 6th October, the Jean Monnet Chair on European Union’s Education, Research, Training and Innovation Policy attended the 2nd Transnational Meeting, which was held within the framework of the EastMed Program, at Ca’Foscari University in Venice.

EastMed Program’s main purpose is the creation of a massive open online course (MOOC) that is going to focus on the Eastern Mediterranean Region, while the consortium consists of the programme are: the Department of International and European Studies of the University of Piraeus, Ca’ Foscari University of Venice, the University Of Cyprus and Ben-Gurion University.

All the partners were present at the meeting, as well as the Academic Coordinator of the Programme, Dr. Aristotle Tziampiris and they discussed the results of the program so far and the next steps that should be followed.